Options

Softball Photos with my new 80-200 f2.8

Mike JMike J Registered Users Posts: 1,029 Major grins
edited April 15, 2009 in Sports
The Nikon 80-200 f2.8 AF ED lens (two-ring version) I purchased off of Ebay arrived on Thursday. I've never done softball games before but I decided to get to know this lens - along with the my new D300 (may the D80 rest in peace:D) at my daughter's game today.

First impressions: this lens is hefty. I don't have a battery grip for the D300 yet (I just ordered the Link Delight version a few days ago) and taking vertical shots was a workout!

All the samples below were shot at ISO200 in Aperture priority mode. Focusing mode was continuous and dynamic area. I used both the 21 point dynamic area mode and the 51 point 3D mode. Not sure I noticed much of a difference for these shots. Used the CH burst mode as well.

Here are some samples of what this lens/D300 was able to do - any comments and criticism gladly accepted:D The full gallery from today is located here: http://www.mikejulianaphotography.com/gallery/7875312_4Zh74#510526069_57GXd

#1 f2.8 1/800
510591075_ngFC5-L.jpg

#2 f2.8 1/2000
510590957_r93qB-L.jpg

#3 f2.8 1/320
510590748_wEknX-L.jpg

#4 f3.5 1/400
510590661_xg5ra-L.jpg

#5 f2.8 1/1250
510591376_Y9jN3-L.jpg

#6 f2.8 1/1250
510591263_eRZAB-L.jpg

#7 f2.8 1/1000
510591214_zPcfF-L.jpg

#8 Post-game cupcake! f2.8 1/1250
510591614_rXVf3-L.jpg
Mike J

Comments and constructive criticism always welcome.
www.mikejulianaphotography.com
Facebook

Comments

• Options
    sportsshooter06sportsshooter06 Registered Users Posts: 194 Major grins
    edited April 12, 2009
    very nice snaps

good luck
  • Options
    edited April 13, 2009
    One thing I forgot to add - these shots are targeted to appeal to the parents (get their $'s). So any comments/criticism along those lines would be appreciated.
    Mike J

Facebook
  • Options
    ToshidoToshido Registered Users Posts: 759 Major grins
    edited April 13, 2009