Options

How To Photograph Artwork

4artsake4artsake Registered Users Posts: 76 Big grins
edited April 27, 2009 in Technique
I am an artist. I have a website on smugmug. I am going pro in fall 2009. I have a lot of artwork to photograph and would like some professional advice and suggestions. I plan on renting a professional camera to do these shots, I just don't know which one. I do know that I don't need a full frame camera, please correct me if I am wrong. All of my art ranges from black and white graphite/charcoal artwork to soft and subtle pastel portraits to full color oil and acrylic paintings.

Here is an example of a graphite portrait that is almost done. I hope I attached the pic properly. I took a test shot with a basic point and shoot camera and can see that I lost a lot of detail and subtle gray tones. I also am wondering what kind of lighting I should use? Natural daylight or artificial? Any help is appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    TizianoTiziano Registered Users Posts: 184 Major grins
    edited April 13, 2009
    I shoot lots of artwork, ranging from oil and watercolor paintings to pencil and charcoal drawings. Most of the shots end up in art books and/or web and video.

-No, a FF cam is not necessary unless you want large prints. Even then, some might debate it's necessity.
    -IMO, even lighting is paramount.
    -If the work is small enough one could use a copystand, otherwise use a tripod.
    -If you're renting a cam, make sure that it shoots in RAW.
    -I mostly use both my Sigma 28mm and 50mm for artwork shots. Now and then I'll switch to my macro but rarely.
    -Also, if you're still a student, pick up an academic version of Lightroom 2. It will greatly assist you in adjusting your RAW's after your shoot.

Very nice drawing BTW. I didn't know Pratt taught realism anymore.
    A Nikon D90 plus some Nikon, Sigma & Tokina lenses.
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,698 moderator
    edited April 13, 2009