1st attempt at off camera lighting

austinstrobistaustinstrobist Registered Users Posts: 67 Big grins
edited April 21, 2009 in People
I am a hobbyist that is exploring SLRs and off camera flash. I just purchased a SB600, umbrella, and a light stand to go with my D90.

Strobist info: Shot with a SB600 right of model (aka sister in law) through an umbrella triggered with CLS.

Please provide C&C. Don't worry you won't hurt my feelings and I also wanted to thank everyone here because I have received my inspiration as well as my knowledge based upon your images and your posts.

Thanks!

515110927_feytb-L.jpg
website & blog

stefanochoi.com

Comments

• divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
    edited April 18, 2009
    Welcome!!! wave.gif

I'm still learning myself and can claim NO authority, but what I see:

The good:
    - you have a beautiful SIL!
    - good makeup job on eyes and lips
    - beautiful pose - she looks very comfortable, and I love the way the beading on the scarf is lying on her arm
    - I like the modelling shadows on the LH side of her face and the glowing effect the position of your flash created.
    - the light falloff to the background works well for you here, as it really complements the colours and pose

The nits:
    - - light possibly (here's where my own inexperience shows, because I'm just not sure) a little too hot on her face - it works, but it seems just a tiny bit too bright for me in comparison to her arm and the scarf
    - my main nit is that I think you may have blurred her face some during post-processing? It just seems ever so slightly plasticky to me; if that's makeup rather than PP, perhaps tone it down slightly next time so there's more natural skin texture to work with?

All in all, I think you did a great job!! thumb.gif
  • Ed911Ed911 Registered Users Posts: 1,306 Major grins
    edited April 18, 2009