Options

Shooting indoor sports?

ssfoxhoundssfoxhound Registered Users Posts: 5 Beginner grinner
edited August 30, 2009 in Sports
I was hoping to get some shots of my son playing Box Lacrosse tonight, they play on indoor hockey rinks that are lit by multiple flourescent lamps in the ceiling. I have a Nikon D80 with 3 lenses;

Nikon AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D
Nikon AF DX Zoom Nikkoer 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6G IF-ED
Nikon AF DX Zoom Nikkor 55-200mm F/4.0-5.6G ED

I know none of these are really ideal for indoor sports, especially as fast as Lacrosse but what lens and settings would work best, I usually shoot in Aperature priority. :dunno

Any suggestions would be appreciated, thanks.

Joe

Comments

• Options
    aj986saj986s Registered Users Posts: 1,100 Major grins
    edited April 20, 2009
    Given the low light, I would suggest using the 50mm 1.8 to help you achieve a better balance between ISO and shutter speed. I'm no expert, but shooting my son's indoor basketball last winter I found that shutterspeeds below 1/250 were pretty useless for action. 1/500 or faster will help keep things sharp. If you can keep the ISO reasonable, then simply crop from the resulting 50mm pics to zoom in. Not ideal, but its better than blurry pics. Unless they let you get away with using a flash, in which case you might be able to use the zooms you have. If you have a strong flash, and celing is somewhat white, you might be able to bounce flash, and avoid direct flash in the player's eyes.
    Tony P.
    Canon 50D, 30D and Digital Rebel (plus some old friends - FTB and AE1)
    Long-time amateur.....wishing for more time to play
    Autocross and Track junkie
    tonyp.smugmug.com
  • Options
    tjk60tjk60 Registered Users Posts: 520 Major grins
    edited April 20, 2009
    With LAX you have a real tough task ahead of you. Lax takes SS in excess of 1/1600 to stop action. Are you going to be shooting thru the glass? Netting? nothing?