Options

Captioning and Keywording

anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
edited April 20, 2009 in Finishing School
I am not a professional but I am finding that the number of images I have stored are starting to grow and getting harder and harder to manage. I have LR2 but admittedly have ignored all the cataloging features it provides. I am now trying to learn how to utilize LR2 more effectively for cataloging my images.

My first question is how do you guys save your images on your HDD? Do you store them all in one directory and then utilize key wording and smart catalogs to find your images or do you group the images in sub-directories, i.e. by date, subject, event, etc.?

I have started my research on this topic on th Net and have located a very informative site on Captioning and Keywording. Thought I would post links here to try and help others like me.
  • Info on proper captioning of images here
  • Info on keywording guidelines here and here
Thanks in advance for your help.
"I'm not yelling. I'm Cuban. That's how we talk."

Moderator of the People and Go Figure forums

My Smug Site

Comments

• Options
    KiwiLightKiwiLight Registered Users Posts: 38 Big grins
    edited April 20, 2009
    Re
    Howdy,

I am not a professional either and are new to LR2. When I got the program I purchased a book by Scott Kelby called 'the Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 2 book for digital photographers.' It is an excellent book and covers the best approaches in response to your question.