Calling all concert shooters! (advice please)

Unbrok3nUnbrok3n Registered Users Posts: 444 Major grins
edited April 24, 2009 in People
I just started working for my friend's magazine doing photoshoots and concert shoots for bands. I am completely new to concerts and basically any kind of people photography in general.
I mainly used the sigma 30/1.4 (when I was in the pit) and my 105/2.5 (up in the balcony)
I have to say that I wasnt pleased with the results from my 30. Im not really sure what I was doing wrong, but a keeper shot(in focus, decently exposed) was about 2 out of 10...horrible I know.
Obviously the band members were moving all over the place and the lighting was insane...but still, I thought I would get better results than I did.
My settings were all over the place, but I found myself falling back to M mode with auto ISO, shooting 1.4-2.0 with the 30, and wide open with the 105, shutter speed around 100-200 depending.
In the shots where I shot in A, I used mostly matrix, because like always, I cant figure out spot metering.
Here is a few that I liked (untouched)
Im basically looking for any advice that anyone can give me to make me better.
Whether that be lens choice, settings, etc.
I found it was a lot easier to get focused shots with manual focus. Should this be the case? What should I do for AF? For metering?
I really appreciate any input from anybody at all.

519377772_CWatA-XL-1.jpg

519454232_8QTDC-XL-1.jpg

519377873_d67dB-XL-1.jpg

519377624_bARzF-XL-1.jpg

519377689_6jNih-XL-1.jpg
graphic designer/photographer

Comments

• Tee WhyTee Why Registered Users Posts: 2,390 Major grins
    edited April 24, 2009
    First of all, the shots look pretty good to me.

As for my approach, I would recommend shooting in M mode as the metering from the camera will be fooled in such lighting (especially matrix as it'll try to expose the black background gray and hence cause overexposure and long shutter speeds).