Options

Need Help on Sky and Tree Exposure Problem

KatmitchellKatmitchell Banned Posts: 1,548 Major grins
edited April 27, 2009 in Technique
:helpPlease help me.. I am new to photography and am working at going pro.. There is so much to learn.. Digital Grin has been a lifesaver.. I hope that I have posted this in the correct forum, if not please tell me.

I need help in what I am doing wrong here. No matter how hard I try, my outdoor images have (2) issues.. The sky is always blown out, and if you notice in this photo, the tips of my trees are having the same problem, they get blown out white.. How do I expose for the subject and the sky..?

I do appreciate your help..

Thanks
Kat

520903729_kPQ8d-XL.jpg

here is the shot info..

F/5.6
ISO 200
No Flash
Manual White Balance
Aperture Priority Mode

Comments

• Options
    jfriendjfriend Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited April 26, 2009
    You've got the equivalent of a backlit subject. Dark foreground, bright background.

Expose for the sky and treetops and your foreground will be too dark.

Expose for the foreground (which you've done) and the background will be too light.

There is no magic dial on your camera that can solve this. Here are some things you can do:
    • Photograph this scene when the lighting is more to your favor (either when the sky is darker or ideally when there is more light on your foreground). Photography is all about lighting. The great photographers make their best images with great lighting and this scene will look best when you photograph it in lighting that is much more favorable to what you are trying to show. More light on the foreground allows you to reduce the overall exposure which pulls the sky into a range that makes it look better.
    • Use a gradient ND filter at a slight angle to knock some light down from the sky. Unfortunately, this will probably not work real well because of the tree on the right which protrudes into the sky will probably look too dark.