Options

aperture vs. lightroom?

lilmommalilmomma Registered Users Posts: 1,060 Major grins
edited May 8, 2009 in Finishing School
there may be a thread for this already, sorry if there is...but I just recently completed my trial of lightroom 2 and I really liked it. Then my brother in law who works at the apple store convinced me to download a trial of Aperture last night. I was under the assumption that aperture was more of an organizing tool and there wasn't much editing power there. So I'm thinking along the lines of having about as much power as iphoto or some other basic tool. When I got into it, I found that so far the only thing I didn't see was gradients. Everything else that I had been doing in lightroom was there (except for presets, which I didn't care for as they stood anyway). And, with aperture, i can get it through him with his employee discount. I'm not a pro at all, but definately would like to be there someday. My question is, for someone who is still learning, what would I be able to do in LR that i can't do in aperture? For me it seems to be the same but aperture will be cheaper for me. I also want to get a version of PS elements, and maybe if I save money on this part, I can get both. I haven't gotten to spend a whole lot of time with aperture, but just from what I see it seems pretty close. I did like the power that LR had and I don't want to give that up. But, I'd also rather save $100 and put it toward an external flash or new lens. hmmm...anyone have suggestions? Oh and if it makes any difference at all, I shoot RAW.

Comments

• Options
    dlplumerdlplumer Registered Users Posts: 8,081 Major grins
    edited April 30, 2009
    I love Apertureiloveyou.gif , and with the latest plugins you can do just about anything you want. deal.gifwings.gif

Dan
  • Options
    TizianoTiziano Registered Users Posts: 184 Major grins
    edited April 30, 2009
    FWIW I am an Apple fanatic but I chose Lightroom over Aperture.