Options

Getting my race photos organized

tracyendotracyendo Registered Users Posts: 34 Big grins
edited May 1, 2009 in Sports
I hope I'm posting this in the right place. Feel free to move it if it needs to be. I am new at the photography biz and I have shot 2 road races. Thankfully they have both been pretty small races and I could split up the race numbers somewhat easily for people to find themselves (see here: http://tracyendo.smugmug.com/Sports/648803 ). As a runner, I have seen many race photos and you are able to search by your race number to find your pictures. I like that - a LOT! But, I have no clue how to do that on my website. Anyone know how to do that? Do I need to create a database? If so, how? I have a race with over 1000 people coming up in mid May so I need to get something going pretty quickly on my site.

Thanks!

Tracy

Comments

• Options
    tdinardotdinardo Registered Users Posts: 98 Big grins
    edited May 1, 2009
    This is a bit more than you asked for, but given what you're trying to do, I think you need to be looking at more than how you are setting up your website....

I would highly recommend that you look at a DAM system for organization of the images. When you are shooting an event with 1000 participants, this is really the only way to manage the number of images you will have. I prefer iMatch - steep learning curve but once you get a handle on it, it's invaluable. There are also smugmug integration scripts for iMatch.

Example workflow:
    1. Ingest images into your DAM solution
    2. Do initial IPTC metadata insert for all images (copyright, title, default caption, location, etc.)
    3. Don't delete anything (If you only have one shot of someone where the bib number is visible, but it's not a good shot so you delete it, you may not be able to properly identify the person in later shots....)
    4. Create categories for the participants: bib number, racers name, event name, location, etc.