Options

Photos not Crisp and Clear

gamedaymdgamedaymd Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
edited May 7, 2009 in Sports
Hi- I'm a newbie person here and to photography- I need to put together a sports gallery on SmugMug. I have photographers sending me large sized pics (i.e 4304 x 2582). Right off the camera. The pics they are sending are not crisp and clear at that size. They tend to be blurry, grainy. If I resize them down, they begin to look a lot better and look fine for the web. But, are these pics that can't be used for a gallery (for printing purposes)? Do the pics I put up need to be crisp and clear at the original file size or can I just resize them and put them up as smaller pics?

Comments

• Options
    PhotosbychuckPhotosbychuck Registered Users Posts: 1,239 Major grins
    edited May 2, 2009
    gamedaymd wrote:
    Hi- I'm a newbie person here and to photography- I need to put together a sports gallery on SmugMug. I have photographers sending me large sized pics (i.e 4304 x 2582). Right off the camera. The pics they are sending are not crisp and clear at that size. They tend to be blurry, grainy. If I resize them down, they begin to look a lot better and look fine for the web. But, are these pics that can't be used for a gallery (for printing purposes)? Do the pics I put up need to be crisp and clear at the original file size or can I just resize them and put them up as smaller pics?
    You can resize the pictures if you want but for printing you need them to be clear with a sharp focus point. Some times you may want a soft focus or blurred part of the shot. It just depends on what you are trying to show in the picture. Example: Alot of photographers when shooting race cars like the car to be in sharp focus but have the shutter speed low enough so the tires will have some blur.
    I hope this helps you and welcome to dgrin & smugmug.

Take Care,
    Charles
    D300S, 18-200mm VR, 70-300mm VR

Aperture Focus Photography