Your Help Please with "B"

whitericewhiterice Registered Users Posts: 555 Major grins
edited May 5, 2009 in People
Mitchell had an excellent idea for his daughter - a portrait representing each letter of the alphabet - see his "U" week here.

His idea presents me with a very good learning opportunity, as I'm very new to photog. And, my 3 year old will really love having his own alphabet.:lust

I'm playing around with an idea for "B".

528364416_jHbr8-L.jpg

50mm, f/5.6, ISO 100, shutter speed 1/13.

This is what I am not happy with:

1) I would like the book titles to be more in focus. I could decrease the aperature and/or move the book spines closer to the plane of my son's eyes, correct? Shutter speed was slow, I used a tripod - eyes are in focus so I know shake wasn't an issue.

2) How do I reduce the glare on the book titles? This was early AM natural light - didn't seem too bright at all to me when I was taking pictures.

I would also adjust the placement of the books too in a redo. Any other c/c and suggestions would be really appreciated - please, I'm here to learn (actually mooch off your expertise!) - thanks everyone.
- Christopher
My Photos - Powered by SmugMug!

Comments

• Darren Troy CDarren Troy C Registered Users Posts: 1,927 Major grins
    edited May 4, 2009
    Your study in "B" looks more like a red "X". :D You're image isn't showing up.
  • whitericewhiterice Registered Users Posts: 555 Major grins
    edited May 4, 2009
    Idlewild wrote:
    Your study in "B" looks more like a red "X". :D You're image isn't showing up.

Smugmug is acting up tonight - I haven't had trouble posting pics before...and I know external links are activated. Hmmm...
    - Christopher
  • WingsOfLovePhotoWingsOfLovePhoto Registered Users Posts: 797 Major grins
    edited May 4, 2009