Options

Eek! My raw images look totally messed up

dudsduds Registered Users Posts: 176 Major grins
edited May 6, 2009 in Finishing School
Howdy. So, I'm no expert with RAW, but I've shot in raw many times with no problems. However.....

I just did a shoot - some RAW, some JPEG - and I'm using CS4 to open the images. When I open the RAW images, they look totally flat and washed out. Whereas the JPEGs look just great.

Anyone got any clues? What did I do wrong? And what can I do to prevent it in the future?

More importantly, how can I save these pics? :dunno

Thanks..
Matt Dudley
Matt Dudley Photography
Nashville child photographer
Twitter: @mattdudleyphoto
Facebook: facebook.com/mattdudleyphotography

Comments

• Options
    QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
    edited May 6, 2009
    duds wrote:
    Howdy. So, I'm no expert with RAW, but I've shot in raw many times with no problems. However.....

I just did a shoot - some RAW, some JPEG - and I'm using CS4 to open the images. When I open the RAW images, they look totally flat and washed out. Whereas the JPEGs look just great.

Anyone got any clues? What did I do wrong? And what can I do to prevent it in the future?

More importantly, how can I save these pics? ne_nau.gif

Thanks..

Can you post some samples?

I know that in lightroom when you import RAW files there is an option that mimics the in camera settings you would see on the LCD...so it is semi-processed. It almost sounds like your CS4 setting may have changed so that you are seeing "true" raw with out any mods.

Also check the camera again..do the raws pics still look good on the LCD? If that is teh case then they are definitely salvagable.
    D700, D600
    14-24 24-70 70-200mm (vr2)
    85 and 50 1.4
    45 PC and sb910 x2
    http://www.danielkimphotography.com
  • Options
    MarkRMarkR Registered Users Posts: 2,099 Major grins
    edited May 6, 2009
    duds wrote:

More importantly, how can I save these pics? ne_nau.gif