Options

Just starting photography

KellyCKellyC Registered Users Posts: 129 Major grins
edited May 13, 2009 in Sports
My wife got me a camera for Christmas, and I am just starting photography (pretty much a complete newbie). On May 2nd I did a photo shoot at our local switchback (motocross), this is my first attempt at action photography. I feel some of the pictures came out fairly well, but I am new to this stuff. I am pretty serious about trying to sell pictures online and would be appreciative of any help that could be offered.

I was reading in another thread about not giving pictures away. I went and had printed 48 pictures (the better ones of course) and was thinking handing them out this coming Saturday at the next event and putting the web address on the back of them. I am not very outgoing and thought this might be a good way to get started.

I have not fully developed a site yet, but I did put up a page to order from, although it is not complete, I have to change the cart as it refers to another one of my sites.

The pictures can be seen at http://www.wcoins.com/photography/cat.php I would be interested in knowing what shots would sell best. I shot from the 'side lines'. I did not ask to go on the track. This is my first time at a motocross event, and had no idea what to expect.

Thanks,
Kelly

Comments

• Options
    rmwphotormwphoto Registered Users Posts: 129 Major grins
    edited May 12, 2009
    Croping
    The pictures are good !
    1st thing i would do is crop some them.
    What camera and lens do you have?
    www.rmwphoto.ca
    Canon XSI
    18-55 AF IS
    55-250 AF IS
    Canon 430 EXII Flash
  • Options
    Cygnus StudiosCygnus Studios Registered Users Posts: 2,294 Major grins
    edited May 12, 2009
    Instead of giving away photos, print some business cards or flyers with the images on it. Give those away.
    If you get the money shots, sell away.
    Steve

Website
  • Options
    edited May 13, 2009
    rmwphoto wrote: