Head shots - technique, lighting, book recommendations?

reynazackphotographyreynazackphotography Registered Users Posts: 45 Big grins
edited May 14, 2009 in People
Hi,
I am new to shooting head shots. I live in Los Angeles and I think it could be a lucrative part of my photography business. I want to improve!
I want to do more research on making my shots more professional looking and what casting directors are looking for specifically and how to master these techniques.
Does anyone know of any materials I could buy that explain the technique (lighting, posing, maybe some photoshop tips, etc) of head shot photography? I have searched for books, but haven't found ANY.
Thank you!
Reyna

Reyna Zack Photography
www.ReynaZackPhotography.com

Comments

• marikrismarikris Registered Users Posts: 930 Major grins
    edited May 13, 2009
    Hi, Reyna! Divamum has a thread she just started that you might find useful: http://dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=130559
  • divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
    edited May 13, 2009
    Here is a link to Reproductions, one of the foremost headshot repro houses. THey also publish a directory of headshot photogs both in NYC and LA. You can do a lot worse than to follow the links there to the many headshot photogs listed - many have a LOT of information about exactly what you're asking, and you can certainly learn a lot just by studying the images.