Another brick in the wall.....

R.JayR.Jay Registered Users Posts: 974 Major grins
edited May 22, 2009 in Other Cool Shots
Hi, Just got back from the UK - had a few days in the Lake District - still amazed by the extent and workmanship in all the dry stone walls. This one has been around for a while judging by all the lichen on it.

3530938970_31ef74c3c5_b.jpg

Would also appreciate any comment on this one - it is my first attempt! Does it 'do anything'? Should I have left it as pure B&W?

3531039924_efb5bcb74d_b.jpg

Thanks for looking - C&C always welcome.
Cheers, Richard.

Comments

• AzzaroAzzaro Registered Users Posts: 5,643 Major grins
    edited May 14, 2009
    Hi Richard..... I like the second one the best.... I believe it would be a stronger composition if you had one yellow rock instead of two.
    Odd numbers make for better composition than even numbers. Two of what ever tends to divide your attention. thumb.gif azzaro
  • Jack'll doJack'll do Registered Users Posts: 2,977 Major grins
    edited May 14, 2009
    Hi Richard. I agree with Azzaro though I didn't realize why until he explained the "rule". I didn't see the little green plant in either image till I looked a second or third time. I'd like to see a crop that would make it more prominent (maybe the only colorized element). Alternatively, I think if you colorized three or four of the rocks immediately adjacent to the right of the presently colored rock on the left as well as the round rock and left the other round rock and the plant B&W, it might be more pleasing. (Hope that ramble makes sense.)

Jack
    (My real name is John but Jack'll do)
  • R.JayR.Jay Registered Users Posts: 974 Major grins
    edited May 15, 2009
    Azzaro wrote:
    Hi Richard..... I like the second one the best.... I believe it would be a stronger composition if you had one yellow rock instead of two.