First-time Event Photo gig

JoeMNIJoeMNI Registered Users Posts: 17 Big grins
edited May 15, 2009 in People
Hi all,

I'm basically an amateur nature photographer, but I've got a chance to shoot an event for some extra cash. It is informal. They just want as many fly-on-the-wall photos to document the event as possible and maybe a few small-group portraits.

I'm limited on time, budget, gear, and experience.

Here are a few other problems I forsee:

1.The room has high, dark ceilings (can't bounce the flash).
2.I can use a tripod, but it will be inconvenient to move with (limited space).
3.I've got one wireless remote flash, & my on-camera pop-up. (No lightstands!)

Anyone know of any good tips or articles that can help with shooting with such limitations?:dunno What CHEAP (-$200), quick-to-get gear could I add to my bag that could help?

Thanks for any input!

Comments

• NikolaiNikolai Registered Users Posts: 19,035 Major grins
    edited May 15, 2009
    JoeMNI wrote:
    Hi all,

I'm basically an amateur nature photographer, but I've got a chance to shoot an event for some extra cash. It is informal. They just want as many fly-on-the-wall photos to document the event as possible and maybe a few small-group portraits.

I'm limited on time, budget, gear, and experience.

Here are a few other problems I forsee:

1.The room has high, dark ceilings (can't bounce the flash).
    2.I can use a tripod, but it will be inconvenient to move with (limited space).
    3.I've got one wireless remote flash, & my on-camera pop-up. (No lightstands!)

Anyone know of any good tips or articles that can help with shooting with such limitations?ne_nau.gif What CHEAP (-$200), quick-to-get gear could I add to my bag that could help?

Thanks for any input!

I shot a ton of various events, indoors and outdoors, but I can't really help you much unless you describe what you already have, what type of event that is and what is expected of you. ne_nau.gif