Options

My little garden nymph

lisarhinehartlisarhinehart Registered Users Posts: 279 Major grins
edited May 28, 2009 in People
On our way home from a princess birthday party I stopped at the local park to take some shots of my little one. She's contantly in motion and I'm just starting to learn how to use my SLR :) c&c welcome. --Lisa

1. f5.6 1/400
538157550_jaKhU-L.jpg

2. f7.1 1/250
538162178_4Kiq9-L.jpg

3. f6.3 1/250
538163361_REJxG-L.jpg

4. f18 1/25
538161254_AGyCx-L.jpg

5. f18 1/25
538159108_X5TZw-L.jpg
Lisa
My Website

Comments

• Options
    ElaineElaine Registered Users Posts: 3,532 Major grins
    edited May 17, 2009
    She is super precious! I love the outfit combined with the setting, especially in that first one. And I really like the catchlights in her eyes on 3. thumb.gif

I'm glad you included the aperture/shutter speed with each pic. Am I correct to guess that you were using auto...letting the camera choose those settings? I'm guessing this because of the big shift between #3 and #4...from f/6.3 to f/18. With portraits of a single subject, it usually works best to have your aperture setting more open (smaller f#), as this narrows the depth of field and allows the background to nicely blur and make your subject stand out. Depending on the lens, I like to shoot portraits in the f/2 - f/5.6 range. On #4, you'll notice that along with the f/18 setting came a very slow shutter speed of 1/25. As f/18 is a very small aperture opening, the shutter had to slow down in order to get the correct amount of light for a proper exposure. See how her arm is blurred in #4? That's because of the 1/25 shutter speed. If you set your camera for Aperture Priority, choose a "wide-open" aperture of something closer to f/4, your shutter speed would zoom right up. :D

It looks like you have a willing model, full of expression and joy. Keep clicking! These are so sweet, and they'll only get better! thumb.gif
    Elaine

Comments and constructive critique always welcome!