Prime Directive

SteveLongPhotoSteveLongPhoto Registered Users Posts: 58 Big grins
edited June 11, 2005 in Cameras
After a lot of thought and research, I've decided to switch to the Canon system. I currently shoot as an in-house photographer for a printing company using a Fuji S1Pro. I've been doing this for four years. I love the image quality that comes out of this camera and the latitude the images have in post-processing.

My employers offered to sell me the in-house studio, but their asking price was too high, if I'm going to spend the money, I want what I want and what I want is the 20D.

I plan on doing portraits and weddings. I've already got my first wedding booked for next year and I have three or four portrait sessions waiting until I get the equipment.

My favorite lens on the S1Pro is the 50mm 1.4. In fact 90% of my shots are with that lens. I really like working with a shallow DOF. So buying the Canon 50 1.4 is a given.

Now, comes the hard part, do I stick with primes to fill in the rest of the focal lengths? I really like shooting fast primes. Or do I go with fast zooms? I really couldn't take the S1Pro over 800 iso, so my reference points for exposure are skewed compared to the 20D's usable 1600iso.

I plan on buying at least two bodies, possibly three. So I could have up to 3 primes mounted and ready to shoot, I was thinking the 28 f1.8, the 50 f1.4 and the 100 f2, all pretty decent lenses and at least 1 stop faster than a zoom. Maybe have the 200 f2.8 in the bag in case I get stuck at the back of a church.

Whatcha think? Go with primes, or go with the 24-70, 70-200 f2.8 combo that seems to be the standard recommended wedding lens kit.

Comments

• Shay StephensShay Stephens Registered Users Posts: 3,165 Major grins
    edited June 11, 2005