Coney_Island_GaryConey_Island_Gary Registered Users Posts: 56 Big grins
edited May 31, 2009 in People
Char 20.jpg

Sorry image did not load.
Gary from Coney Island, Brooklyn, NY

Comments

• marikrismarikris Registered Users Posts: 930 Major grins
    edited May 29, 2009
    How interesting! My eyes keep straying to her right arm, however, because of the focus and it's the poppiest color on the pic, but overall, I really like the play of light on her face from the brim of her hat. :D
  • Coney_Island_GaryConey_Island_Gary Registered Users Posts: 56 Big grins
    edited May 29, 2009
    Thanks for the comments. I am new at this and have lots to learn. I just looked at your work and I guess you have been at this for awhile as your images are very good.
  • SamSam Registered Users Posts: 7,419 Major grins
    edited May 29, 2009
    OK, here is my take on this shot.

it's really hard to get a good shot in bright sunlight. The hat just adds to the problem.

I would try to move the subject into the shade. If you can't do this use fill flash. Also be very careful with dappled shade. While this can look nice to our eyes, cameras see the shadow and light differently, and it normally won't look great.

Sam
    edited May 29, 2009
    Sam wrote:
    OK, here is my take on this shot.

it's really hard to get a good shot in bright sunlight. The hat just adds to the problem.

Sam

I thought that the bright sunlight at high-noon was ideal. Boy was I wrong. I am trying again later today in the afternoon.
  • QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
    edited May 29, 2009
    I thought that the bright sunlight at high-noon was ideal. Boy was I wrong. I am trying again later today in the afternoon.

that is exactly wrong. that is typically the worst time to take shots..unless it is overcast. 1 hour after sunrise or before sunset are known are really best for direct natural light shots FYI. Or find some shade
    D700, D600
    14-24 24-70 70-200mm (vr2)