Shooting 1 year olds

divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
edited June 6, 2009 in People
Seems like I may have another possible shoot... :huh Some friends asked about doing their 13 month old and possibly some family shots; I'd like to do it, but I haven't said yes to this one yet - I have NO experience photographing babies since my own was that size and it scares the pants off me! :tiptoe

So... suggestions for this age group both with and without parents? As I remember it this is one of the peak stranger anxiety ages/phases and I don't know this little guy - how do you get them to cooperate and interact? What are the pitfalls, good locations and things to try? (Gee, I don't want much, do I?! : :rolleyes :giggle)

Next thing is pricing - unlike headshots, I've not been a client in this situation so have no personal experience to base on. Is it hourly + prints (and do prints go via smug or other service, and does the client pay you or them? Sorry, my cluelessness is showing on this.... :hide)

All comments welcome. I need to respond to the request which I would like to accept, but I figure I should get my ducks in a row first so that I 1 know what I"m getting myself into and 2 know what to charge for it :D

ETA: I do not have a toddler-friendly space in my home, so a formal "studio" setup would be out; I would be asking for this to be either at their home, or a park or other more suitable (and safe!) location. Of course, my own lighting setup is speedlights and thus portable so I could take a background with me without much fuss.... :scratch

Comments

• sweet carolinesweet caroline Registered Users Posts: 1,589 Major grins
    edited June 1, 2009