HELP-going from P&S to first DSLR.

lizzard_nyclizzard_nyc Registered Users Posts: 4,056 Major grins
edited June 15, 2009 in Cameras
I need help. It should be obvious from the title of this thread that I'm a big time newbie.
I am making the big leap from a P&S (Kodak Easyshare Z650) to my very first DSLR. I'm tired of missing great shots (or what I think are great shots anyway) because of the 3 second lag between pushing the button and getting the shot, crappy ISO, great zoom but no stabilization and a myriad of other things.

I need to know if the Canon-EOS Digital Rebel XS 10.1 is a good starter camera for me or should I go ahead and aim for his big brother the XSi or any other? Sure price is an issue, but I'm willing to wait a little longer to get the better camera if need be.

Any words of wisdom would be greately appreciated.
Liz A.
_________

Comments

• flacoflaco Registered Users Posts: 19 Big grins
    edited June 5, 2009
    :lurk
  • QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
    edited June 5, 2009
    I need help. It should be obvious from the title of this thread that I'm a big time newbie.
    I am making the big leap from a P&S (Kodak Easyshare Z650) to my very first DSLR. I'm tired of missing great shots (or what I think are great shots anyway) because of the 3 second lag between pushing the button and getting the shot, crappy ISO, great zoom but no stabilization and a myriad of other things.

I need to know if the Canon-EOS Digital Rebel XS 10.1 is a good starter camera for me or should I go ahead and aim for his big brother the XSi or any other? Sure price is an issue, but I'm willing to wait a little longer to get the better camera if need be.

I will supplant ziggy on this one.

What kind of pictures do you plan on taking with the camera? babies? sports? wildlife? landscape? family shots? a little of everything?

what is your budget?