If you have a Nikon D90 or D300

jennieviijennievii Registered Users Posts: 39 Big grins
edited June 13, 2009 in Cameras
Do you recommend it? What do you like/not like about it? What do you use it for? I'm in the market for a semi-pro/pro camera and am trying to decide between Canon and Nikon.

Comments

• MLangtonMLangton Registered Users Posts: 140 Major grins
    edited June 11, 2009
    I just picked up the D300 a month ago, and love it.

As far as the differences between the D90 and D300, I posed the same question a while back and got some good answers. This might help. http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=128717

As far as the D300, I am an avid amateur, aspiring to go semi-pro over the course of the next year or two. I plan to mainly keep it a hobby, but if I can make a few $$$ part time on the side... Cool.

So far, for the $$$ there is NOTHING that I do not like about the D300. I am a former Canon shooter, and just LOVE this thing.

My only error so far, is the D300 does not come with a lens. I bought the generic 18-105mm kit lens with it, and am not really happy with it. Had I to to all over again, I would have saved up a little more and picked up a better mid range lens. The kit lens has a plastic mounting which I am scared will wear out quickly. It does seem to be a decent lens for the money. I'm saving now for a nice 50mm f1.4, and/or a 28-70mm f2.8...
    More photo, less shop.

http://mlangton.smugmug.com
  • photomaniaphotomania Registered Users Posts: 10 Big grins
    edited June 11, 2009