Problem with .NET framework

davinderdavinder Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
Hi all,

I'm very new to Smugmug and have been having a problem with the api. I have a website written in .NET and have been using the smugmug .NET framework written by Maria Ghiondea listed in the Hacks and Apps section on the SmugMug wiki (http://smugmugc3.codeplex.com/)

I have been using it for about a week without any problems but today I've started getting these messages:

The remote server returned an error: (500) Internal Server Error.
The remote server returned an error: (400) Bad Request.

everytime I try to list the categories etc.... , I haven't changed my code for about 4 days has anyone else been having any problems with this?

Thanks
Davinder

Comments

  • vlb804svlb804s Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
    edited June 12, 2009
    I am having the same issue. I am using a different wrapper, but also using the .NET framework. Last night we started receiving the same errors when making calls to the api.
    davinder wrote:
    Hi all,

    I'm very new to Smugmug and have been having a problem with the api. I have a website written in .NET and have been using the smugmug .NET framework written by Maria Ghiondea listed in the Hacks and Apps section on the SmugMug wiki (http://smugmugc3.codeplex.com/)

    I have been using it for about a week without any problems but today I've started getting these messages:

    The remote server returned an error: (500) Internal Server Error.
    The remote server returned an error: (400) Bad Request.

    everytime I try to list the categories etc.... , I haven't changed my code for about 4 days has anyone else been having any problems with this?

    Thanks
    Davinder
  • devbobodevbobo Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,339 SmugMug Employee
    edited June 13, 2009
    Due to some network maintenance last night, the ip address of api.smugmug.com was changed. If people are still having issues, try flushing your DNS cache.

    Cheers,

    David
    David Parry
    SmugMug API Developer
    My Photos
  • davinderdavinder Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
    edited June 14, 2009
    Hi,

    @devbobo

    I tried flushing my DNS cache using:
    ipconfig /flushdns
    
    and it made no difference same problems! ne_nau.gif
    But I have done some further investigation and found that sometimes i get the errors when trying to login and other times when I try to logout! My test code is pretty simple:

    1.get user object from loging in with password
    2.print user id
    3.logout

    about 9 times out of 10 this code will come back with one of the errors and will work fine once.

    any suggestions on where I should look? I guess it could still be some sort of DNS issue???

    @vlb804s

    Thanks foryour post, at least I know I'm not the only one and I'm not totally crazy. I also tried a different .Net wrapper and had the same problem.


    Thanks
    Davinder
  • vlb804svlb804s Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
    edited June 14, 2009
    Continuing to have issues
    I've noticed that every time it fails for me it is going to the AkamaiGHost server and when it is successful it uses the Apache server. Also, whether this makes any difference or not, the character set used when I get the failure is ISO-8859-1 and when it succeeds on Apache it uses utf-8.

    I also saw in the blogs that a new firmware was added to the load balancer and I am wondering if both of these servers are set up the same. When we are routed to Apache, all is well. AkamaiGHost, never.

    Thanks again.
  • MaRiMaRi Registered Users Posts: 21 Big grins
    edited June 16, 2009
    I’ve been having the same problems (I’m using my C# framework with several apps - a C# console, a C# UI app and a C# LiveWriter extension). Sometimes it logs in and then fails at another call, at other times it doesn’t even login. It can’t be something that I changed on the framework recently as older versions of the framework, that worked just fine, now have the same strange behavior.
    Looking at other posts I noticed that someone said it might be related to going to different servers and that one works and the other one doesn’t. That actually made a lot of sense as they can be configured differently. So tonight, as I got a chance, I checked it out. The same things that he said are true for me. If the server my calls hit is Apache, everything works just fine, as soon as a call goes to AkamaiGHost server, I get a "The remote server returned an error: (500) Internal Server Error". I have attached a tracer to my calls and I can give you the results if that’s of any use.
    Hope this helps for a quick fix. Thanks!
  • matthewpjwmatthewpjw Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
    edited June 16, 2009
    Just to add another voice, I'm also accessing the API using oAuth from .NET and getting a mix of 500's and 400's back from the API servers.

    Let me know if I can provide tcp dumps / http traces of failures.

    Matt
    --
  • devbobodevbobo Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,339 SmugMug Employee
    edited June 16, 2009
    If anyone has additional info...request/responses, tcp dumps etc....I'd like to see them...please email to david at smugmug.

    Thanks,

    David
    David Parry
    SmugMug API Developer
    My Photos
  • Kevin L. KitchensKevin L. Kitchens Registered Users Posts: 149 Major grins
    edited June 17, 2009
    Late to the party -- got this a couple of days ago and then the past two nights were fine. Now getting it again.

    I have a hosted webserver, so I cannot flush the DNS between the two machines.

    Can you tell us what the true IP should be and we can make the connection that way?
    Kevin L. Kitchens
    "Know me through my lens."
    My smugmug: http://peiklk.smugmug.com
    My site: http://www.photographyvoice.com [POTD, Blog, News, & more!]
  • MaRiMaRi Registered Users Posts: 21 Big grins
    edited June 23, 2009
    Hi.

    For two days now it's all working well, all my tests run successfully and the app I use to manage my galleries also works just fine. I've let them run for some time since yesterday to make sure that they always work. As I've noticed, my API calls only hit the Apache server now.

    Thanks.
Sign In or Register to comment.