Is a D300 more than I need?

heatherk9heatherk9 Registered Users Posts: 20 Big grins
edited June 20, 2009 in Cameras
I am an avid hobbyist but I take photos of one subject only: shelter animals. I use the photographs to tell their stories and get them adopted. I take about 1000 photos a month and they are normally only printed at 4x6. Since the little buggers never hold still, I'm not setting up shots. I just click away and usually end up with 1 good (i.e. lucky) shot for ten bad ones. I have to use the lighting that's available and I often have to turn off the flash so I sometimes shoot at high ISO.

I'm using a D70 right now with a Nikkor 18-200. I've been preparing large prints for my first exhibition and, in doing so, I've decided I would really benefit from a camera with better performance at higher ISO, better low light performance, and the ability to make nice, large prints. I've been shooting jpegs but I would prefer to switch to RAW.

I've looked at the D90 and the D300 and I'm torn between the two only because I can find a used D300 for only about $400 more than a used D90. I would have picked the D90 without a second thought if the price gap was greater. $400 isn't a small amount, but amortized over the life of the equipment it doesn't seem so bad.

I would appreciate any opinions.

Thanks! Heather

Comments

• NikonsandVstromsNikonsandVstroms Registered Users Posts: 990 Major grins
    edited June 19, 2009
    heatherk9 wrote:
    I am an avid hobbyist but I take photos of one subject only: shelter animals. I use the photographs to tell their stories and get them adopted. I take about 1000 photos a month and they are normally only printed at 4x6. Since the little buggers never hold still, I'm not setting up shots. I just click away and usually end up with 1 good (i.e. lucky) shot for ten bad ones. I have to use the lighting that's available and I often have to turn off the flash so I sometimes shoot at high ISO.