Options

Upgrade or new system: Thinking outside the box...

MooseKillerMooseKiller Registered Users Posts: 29 Big grins
edited June 29, 2009 in Accessories
OK, so, I am cross posting this here as well as in Action! as I am hoping to get more replies...

What I am interested in is the "unknown unknowns" regarding a system/kit upgrade. Since I am new to video, I know there are things I don't know, what to look for, nor what to ask... And this is where you and your opinions/suggestions come in. :D Think outside the box, the most bang for the buck, looking toward future upgrades, etc...

I am primarily a still landscape/wildlife photographer, though recently my interests are pointing me toward video. I am looking for a balance between the two, though I am guessing a system that can handle video will easily do stills. My interest in video would be landscape/wildlife, as well as sports/motorsports, and the occasional vacation/family events type thing.

This is my current system and kit:

Computer:
Mac PowerPC G5 Dual 2 gig processor (pre Intel)
OS 10.5.6 (Leopard)
3 gig RAM (2 x 512m, 2 x 1g, 4 slots open)
3 open PCI-X slots
ATI Radeon 9600 XT video card (AGP 128m)
160 gig primary HD (original to system, SMART verified)
500 gig secondary HD (about 1.5 years old, SMART verified)
- No available drive bays
2 x 19" CRT monitors
Wacom 4x6 tablet
iSight Firewire camera

Software:
Final Cut Express 4.0.1 (learning to use, relatively proficient)
PhotoShop CS 8.0 (not proficient at all, thinking Aperture :scratch )
Miscellaneous apps like Elements, PhotoStitch, etc...
SmugMug Power user

Kit:
Canon Digital Rebel (Original)
- Various EF & EF-S glass & accessories
Panasonic SDR-H40P videocamera & extra battery