Options

Aperture 2 or Lightroom 2

startingjourneystartingjourney Registered Users Posts: 25 Big grins
edited June 29, 2009 in Finishing School
Is it better to buy a program I am more comfortable with or one that is know to be better? If I started selling photos would I need something better than Aperture? I tried the trials of lightroom and aperture. Aperture was much quicker and easier for me to quickly fix photos. I didn't like lightroom. If I took senior photos and edited them in aperture would the program be good enough? I don't want to regret this purchase but I do have until Christmas to decide.

Comments

• Options
    lilmommalilmomma Registered Users Posts: 1,060 Major grins
    edited June 29, 2009
    If you are already familiar with aperture then you should consider sticking with it. I use lightroom 2 but before I purchased it I had the trial, so I was used to it after it ended. I tried aperture after that, and couldn't decide which to get. I'm not an expert but to me aperture was not as easy to use after using LR. From what I have seen and have been told they are pretty similar in the way they function. Aperture is a little cheaper too. One thing that sold me on LR was the downloadable presets. Also plenty of pros use just either one of those programs. I am not a pro but I also downloaded GIMP which is free, and does basically what photoshop does (not as user friendly though..) but is great if you want to do artsy stuff....and hey, can't beat free right?
  • Options
    wadesworldwadesworld Registered Users Posts: 139 Major grins
    edited June 29, 2009
    I haven't used either, but had been leaning towards Aperture, since I'm more interested in managing my photos / making selects than I am seriously in-depth post processing nerd knobs. So, I can't speak from experience, but I can relay the results of my reading.