Options

I'm new, took some photos in Thailand, what do you think?

stirlsilverstirlsilver Registered Users Posts: 15 Big grins
edited July 6, 2009 in Journeys
Hi All, yep my first post. I have been photographing now for 3 months or so and I've been practising any chance I can get. I recently went to thailand for business and made sure to put some time aside to take some photos of the amazing sites. Below is a handful of shots.

I would appreciate any tips or suggestions, it's the only way to learn!!

The rest of the photos are here:
http://stirlsilver.smugmug.com/gallery/8551040_z5uGq#563206886_D76ED

On the flight there, I am so happy about this photo:
563206886_D76ED-L.jpg
After about 5 hours on the flight I was having serious problems dealing with my boredom. I was on the emergency exit (I'm 6'1" so it's really a must!). I took a walk and peered out side the emergency exit window to see what was out there... trying to develop a photography eye I noticed the red strobing of the aircraft lighting up the wing. So I figured I needed to give a photo a go... It took 5 attempts for me to get it... it involved 2 pillows stuffed on the top and bottom of the camera and a bulb exposure of 70 seconds... holding it by hand... I was barely breathing while exposing this shot. I wonder what the passengers were thinking while I was doing all of this...??

First ride in a tuk tuk!:
563207260_AddZz-L.jpg
I didn't actually intend to end up on a tuk tuk because I had caught a cab to the grand palace to take some photos... but a guy in a uniform stopped me from going in and told me it was closed until 12 (or something like that). And he suggested I do a round trip of some other tourist attractions to come back when it was open... He arranged a tuk tuk for me and everything... I later realised it was a scam... I ended up going to the other sites via stops to tailors and jewelry shops!