What da? Need help with camera setting

lizzard_nyclizzard_nyc Registered Users Posts: 4,056 Major grins
edited July 17, 2009 in Technique
Hi all,
I hope you can help. I'm just starting out in photography and have been playing with different camera settings as opposed to the usual manual--I don't know what button I hit on my camera but look at how my pictures are turning out now. I can't figure it out. Any ideas?

I have an Olympus E620 if this info is needed.
593152776_37bj9-L.jpg
This photo was taken in:
AP priority
Exposure Bias 0EV
No flash
Auto expo mode
Auto WB
Color space? SRGB
Digital Zoom Ratio 100/100

591482559_UEVxs-L.jpg
Same settings as the above

Help! I need to take photos tomorrow and I don't want them to look like this.
Liz A.
_________

Comments

• digismiledigismile Registered Users Posts: 955 Major grins
    edited July 16, 2009
    Did this just start happening? (i.e. do you have photos that turned out OK?)

The EXIF information shows that you are in Aperture priority, meaning that YOU set the aperture, and the camera will calculate the shutter speed.

The shutter speed is also very slow, which explains the blur. But was was the lighting like? Was it very dim? Or was it average daylight lighting? If it was average lighting, something is definitely wrong. It looks like the camera is exposing incorrectly. This may be something as simple as the lens being slightly off from where it's supposed to be. Take the lens off and put it back on, taking care to turn it to its fully locked position. Other than that, I really don't have any other ideas.

good luck,
  • lizzard_nyclizzard_nyc Registered Users Posts: 4,056 Major grins
    edited July 16, 2009
    Thank you for the post.
    The one of half a head in the frame was a photo in the restroom, regular lightbulb and my daughter moved--but it's so blurred and white.