29: An Idea

bf2015bf2015 Registered Users Posts: 523 Major grins
edited July 22, 2009 in The Dgrin Challenges
Here's an idea that I really want to use for DSS #29. Last night was the first clear moonless night, and after 3 weeks of researching astrophotography and darks and flats and stacking and HIGH ISOs, I went out to Mt. Rainier and captured the following. It is a composite, and I will hopefully be able to reshoot. I'm going to try to take shorter exposures to reduce the star-trails so the focus is much sharper. First time shooting the Milky Way and it's a HUGE learning curve! But, alas, this is my very first attempt. C&C is always appreciated.

Title: Under The Milky Way by The Church (one of my all-time 80s favorites!)

593729787_zoFiS-L.jpg

Comments

• KatmitchellKatmitchell Banned Posts: 1,548 Major grins
    edited July 17, 2009
    Hi Brian..

Good to see your still alive and kicking.. haha..mwink.gif

I love it..clap.gif You sure are good at this stacking stuff. I have no experience in it at all, but it seems like a lot of work goes into it.

The results are stunning indeed, and I like the color throughout. The silhouette of the trees are superb, and I like the way they contrast with the stars and low light..

Nice crop and composition.

I hope that if you decide to re-shoot that you can achieve and capture the same beautiful and subtle light and reflection on the lake..

The balance on each side of the composition of dark and light is awesome.
    However, I would open up the darkness on the left just a tiny bit more. I would clone in the small yellow glare on the water too...

I agree with you on trying to shorten the exposure some to sharpen the stars up, but is this possible in such low light is the question?

I suppose if you are going with a composite, it is possible to keep the exposure shot on the lake here as is, and just use a separate round of short exposures on the stars by themselves?

Very Nice Work Brian thumb.gif

Kat