product photography help

ElaineElaine Registered Users Posts: 3,532 Major grins
edited July 18, 2009 in Technique
This is my first attempt at any sort of product photography. I've made myself a DIY light tent such as found at strobist.

For this shot, I used my Canon 100 2.8 macro (on my 40D). Is that a good idea or would a different lens be better? This shot isn't as sharp as I'd like and I'm not sure why. My settings were f/8, 1/5 sec, ISO 200 set with a 2 sec delay on a tripod. I have two regular lamps shining down into the top of the box, as well as a flash set to camera right, shining through the side (all through diffusing material...vellum).

593817429_acaTr-L.jpg

In post, I did have to raise the exposure as the white background wasn't white enough. Do I need more light shining onto the background? Should I use a different lens? I have a 17-55 2.8 IS, 85 1.8, 50 1.4. Should I turn it so there is more light on the front of the cup?
I'm open to any and all suggestions! Thank you!
Elaine

Comments and constructive critique always welcome!

Elaine Heasley Photography

Comments

• jeffreaux2jeffreaux2 Registered Users Posts: 4,762 Major grins
    edited July 17, 2009
    Hey Elaine!!

The 1/5 shutter speed and 100mm lens as a combination may be at the root of your softness....despite using the timer on a tripod. Before I pulled my hair out trying a gazillion different things Id duplicate all this but instead switch to the shorter lens.

Ideally, you would use multiple flashes instead of the lamps. You could use the ratios on your STE2 to have the BG flash put out a different amount of light than your main light....to your own tastes. Then you could be shooting at an even smaller aperture and at 1/60 or even faster.

Another thing to try would be to add weight to the tripod.