How to photograph lightning

matrix311matrix311 Registered Users Posts: 55 Big grins
edited September 29, 2009 in Technique
Well it's monsoon season here in AZ and we get some amazing lightning shows in the evenings as the storm rolls through. I'm still new to this game and last night I attempted to shoot some lightning bolts across the sky. I landed a few nice ones but the shots i really wanted to get was when the sky was full of lightning. I was able to capture the picture but it was completely washed out due to how bright the lightning was. What tips, settings or adjustments can you recommend for me to capture that perfect image?

Link to album - unedited jpegs right out of the camera.
http://www.esimaging.net/gallery/8976997_7fJuz/1/596650499_Q37qQ

I've uploaded the photos from last night. Some were shot in aV and the rest were shot in manual.

I have the Canon 40D and was using the 17-85mm IS USM.
Shot in Manual
Autofocus off
f/4
.5 second exposure time
ISO 1600

Above were my settings as I fooled around. Once the lightning quit my night ended. As you can see some turned out and others were just completely washed out from how bright the lightning was. How can I prevent this from happening in the future?

Any assistance, tips or recommended settings are greatly appreciated.

Eric
Eric Schlaht, Phoenix Arizona Photographerhttp://www.esimaging.net - http://esimaging.blogspot.com/

Canon 7D, Canon 40D, 24-70mm f/2.8L, 70-200mm f/4L IS, 50mm f/1.8, 430EX

Comments

• bgarlandbgarland Registered Users Posts: 761 Major grins
    edited July 20, 2009
    I'm just learning myself but what I noticed in your gallery was that most of the shots were taken with ISO set at 1600. That would explain why the bright light blew out many of your shots.

My approach has been to use ISO 100 and an exposure anywhere from 4-8 seconds. I use a remote shutter trigger and point the camera in the general area with the most active lightning then just keep taking shots until I get lucky.