Fujifil FinePix S200EXR

SmithySmithy Registered Users Posts: 152 Major grins
edited August 5, 2009 in Cameras
So this baby's coming out soon, and I'm seriously considering the upgrade from pocketcam to something slightly more substantial... but not in the full DLSR league yet. The reviews call these "Bridge" cams, and I like the idea a lot.

Does anyone know when they are expected to start shipping?

And, if this total noob is looking at the wrong equipment for the price point (500-600 bones) please let me know. Thanks.

http://www.letsgodigital.org/images/artikelen/14/fujifilm-finepix-s200exr.jpg
Fuji X-S10
Fujifilm Finepix S100fs

and my other hobby... tidewaterforge.com

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,079 moderator
    edited July 27, 2009
    Smithy, welcome to the Digital Grin. clap.gif

I saw this announcement as well and it does look like a very competent camera. I would wait for the formal reviews to make a decision, but the specs certainly look good.
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • SmithySmithy Registered Users Posts: 152 Major grins
    edited July 27, 2009
    What's your opinion of Bridge cameras in general? Considering most <$200 pocket-cams are pretty decent in MP and lousy in glass and quality beyond happy-snaps of the kids, and Full DSLR rigs can get enourmously expensive, is spending a couple hundred extra really getting you that much more camera?
    Fuji X-S10
    Fujifilm Finepix S100fs

edited July 27, 2009
    Smithy wrote:
    What's your opinion of Bridge cameras in general? Considering most <$200 pocket-cams are pretty decent in MP and lousy in glass and quality beyond happy-snaps of the kids, and Full DSLR rigs can get enourmously expensive, is spending a couple hundred extra really getting you that much more camera?