Feedback for DSS #30 Choice

coscorrosacoscorrosa Registered Users Posts: 2,284 Major grins
edited July 31, 2009 in The Dgrin Challenges
I'm not very good at shooting people (with a camera). But a situation presented itself yesterday morning that I think is pretty emblematic of the types of hurdles that we crazy landscape photographers go through.

The story:

http://dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=138654

The shot:

605021330_SwtGj-XL.jpg

You'll be happy to know that Danny survived the experience.

I know that typically environmental portraits are supposed to have more portrait and less environment, but I think the only proper way to show the context of the photographers environment was to include more of it.

Opinions?

Thanks!

Comments

• whitericewhiterice Registered Users Posts: 555 Major grins
    edited July 29, 2009
    Ron - thanks for sharing your story - a fun read.

I think you're correct, it is awefully difficult to get a full appreciation of this environment without a wider shot. However, I think you could reach a better balance. I don't get the sense this is a portrait because I can't even really see your subject.

So, when you go out to reshoot this one mwink.gif:D make sure to wear your hiking boots and to properly secure your wallet!
    - Christopher
    My Photos - Powered by SmugMug!
  • cj99sicj99si Registered Users Posts: 880 Major grins
    edited July 29, 2009
    So what do you like to shoot people with......rolleyes1.gif
  • coscorrosacoscorrosa Registered Users Posts: 2,284 Major grins
    edited July 29, 2009
    cj99si wrote:
    So what do you like to shoot people with......rolleyes1.gif

I'll let you know once the statute of limitations are up mwink.gif
    edited July 29, 2009
    whiterice wrote:
    Ron - thanks for sharing your story - a fun read.