Very, very difficult shot.

hrgerenahrgerena Registered Users Posts: 51 Big grins
edited July 30, 2009 in Holy Macro
Hello;

I saw this little friend this morning in my backyard, its size is about 1/2 inch or less. It was windy, I was trying to get very good DOF and it was almost imposible to focus, finally after over 20 shots I keept this one, it's not 100% perfect but I got it. I used my Canon 100mm Macro with the Canon Speedlite 430EX in Vertical position (I guess I need a nice Flash bracket or a Macro Ring).

This is the link for picture Data
http://hfgerena.smugmug.com/photos/newexif.mg?ImageID=605547287&ImageKey=x3BgD

C&C&Suggestions are welcome

605547287_x3BgD-L.jpg
H.F. Gerena
My_SmugMug
“When the mind is disturbed, the multiplicity of things is produced, but when the mind is quieted, the multiplicity of things disappears”

Comments

• paddler4paddler4 Registered Users Posts: 976 Major grins
    edited July 29, 2009
    I'm just a novice at this, and the experts can give you much better advice, but something that you can do that is cheap and easy is to put a Demb reflector on your 430, playing with the angle of the flash head and the reflector. Much better than direct flash, and lots more light than a vertical head without. Sometimes I have cranked flash compensation up by as much as 3, but you just have to play around. Here are two that I took with a Demb reflector. The first was vertical with compensation of 2 or 3: the second had the head swiveled to the side and the reflector mounted on the corner.

603674477_A7AH5-XL.jpg

547049643_3GiaQ-X2.jpg
  • Lord VetinariLord Vetinari Registered Users Posts: 15,901 Major grins
    edited July 30, 2009
    Well you got a good capture there - looks like a bush cricket (katydid) nymph.
    Brian V.
  • PeterD-2009PeterD-2009 Registered Users Posts: 618 Major grins
    edited July 30, 2009