New to this

OverkillOverkill Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
edited July 31, 2009 in Holy Macro
Hi DGrin, I'm new to closeups/macro and really to photography in general. I just got out of point and shoot land and bought a 50D. I had a wierd mess up with my extension tube order or a couple of these might have been a tad better... maybe. My dad is a professional photographer but I didn't absorb any of that, so go easy please :D

The best spider pic I have gotten so far(on my tv actually). I had another with it looking straight at the camera, but it was before I got off of f5.6 and little was in focus other than the eyes:
spider.JPG

Lots of photoshopping on my bangai cardinal:
bangai_cardinal2.jpg

Also I got a brief moment with a dragonfly who either got curious or tired of me chasing it. I'm going to try some focus stacking but the second one(resized only) was the closest head-on shot that I got that looks best on its own. The flash was a little harsh... a 430EXII with the omni-bounce. Actually if you can tell me which of the dragonfly pictures you prefer and why that would be a big help.

(this one was just a 100% crop, edit:resized now)
100_crop_side_small.JPG

(just resized, intending to attempt focus stacking with a series of these)
heads_on_small.JPG

EDIT: smaller images

Thanks!

Comments

• Lord VetinariLord Vetinari Registered Users Posts: 15,901 Major grins
    edited July 30, 2009
    Welcome to the forum. Good start with the ext tubes.
    With the dragon shots prefer the composition of the first but the focus of the second
    Brian V.
  • PeterD-2009PeterD-2009 Registered Users Posts: 618 Major grins
    edited July 30, 2009
    Lovely set and really good as a startclap.gif .
    I see you have realised that you need to close the aperture down for Macro:D . I learnt that painful lesson when I first started outrolleyes1.gif .