B&W macro pictures

Carmelo75Carmelo75 Registered Users Posts: 232 Major grins
edited July 31, 2009 in Holy Macro
as my second post, I want to share a couple of recent shots in black and white:

leaves...
3774699138_1dc5c7aa0a_o.jpg

this one was shot indoor, with the camera on the tripod and the light coming from a nearby window...
3773415650_50e3b435d3_o.jpg

Here is also an update of the spider I have shown in my first post. after all the comments, I have done a better resizing/conversion, and added some more snap. I'd like to know if I'm going in the right direction...
3773901595_0fc9ff855f_o.jpg

By the way, as I am still quite new to digital photograpy and I'm step-by-step learning the advanced techniques, I'm really interested to know how much and which kind of post-processing other people do, with clearly amazing results. For example: what sharpening techniques are best for macro?

Thanks!

Comments

• BBiggsBBiggs Registered Users Posts: 688 Major grins
    edited July 30, 2009
    You are headed in the right direction with these photos!!! The B&W photos are great conversions!!! Watch out for dust spots in the second shot!!! :) The spider shot is simply awesome. These creatures are one of my favorites to shoot, and you did very well capturing the beauty of that guy!!! clap.gifthumb
  • Lord VetinariLord Vetinari Registered Users Posts: 15,901 Major grins
    edited July 31, 2009
    Lovely series- esp like the first B&W and the argiope spider.

Re sharpening. I shoot RAW and do no de-noise and very little sharpening during jpg conversion. In PS I do a light de-noise (using noiseware pro) and then sharpen using USM at 200,1,1, but faded (EDIT fade) to suit- normally by 50%. I do another similar sharpen to the size reduced image for web use but fade again to around 30%.

Brian v.
  • Carmelo75Carmelo75 Registered Users Posts: 232 Major grins
    edited July 31, 2009
    BBiggs wrote: