"Summertime"

Shades of HyperionShades of Hyperion Registered Users Posts: 367 Major grins
edited August 11, 2009 in Other Cool Shots
While waiting for the fireworks to start at the local "Family Days" celebration yesterday I started playing around with a baseball laying in the grass and ended up with this shot. A little post processing later...

608959537_QY4sk-X2.jpg

Comments and critiques are welcomed and encouraged as always.
Scooba Steve

Shades of Hyperion photography
Extraordinary photos can not be had standing where everyone else is standing, looking where everyone else is looking

Comments

• rainbowrainbow Registered Users Posts: 2,765 Major grins
    edited August 2, 2009
    Beautiful capture. And nice choice of a title, as the photo brings back the "dog days of summer" whereby the kid has been playing ball everyday.

I really like the composition with the ball in the front left foreground (and in focus) with the player adding to (but not distracting from) the theme.

I am less thrilled with the processing. As I peer at it, I assume it is to give the photo a "weathered" look, like it is really old and handled much. On my screen, it looks more like a dirty veil between the ball and the player and background. I am not sure if this would work better on a print (but not with a glossy finish!)
  • Shades of HyperionShades of Hyperion Registered Users Posts: 367 Major grins
    edited August 2, 2009
    Thanks for the input, it's my first attempt at texturing.
    Scooba Steve

Extraordinary photos can not be had standing where everyone else is standing, looking where everyone else is looking
  • dustin32dustin32 Registered Users Posts: 67 Big grins
    edited August 3, 2009
    Really love the shot, but I'm not too sure of the processing either. I love the color treatment, but the canvas look isn't doing it for me. I'd try it with the same color as you have, but w/o the canvas, and with a nice vignette on the corners... Just me though..