Filters Upfront or Software Afterwards?

Tom PotterTom Potter Registered Users Posts: 226 Major grins
edited August 5, 2009 in Technique
A couple of questions, please. This is one of those much-debated questions out there in photo land.....Are youmof the school of
Thought of using lens filters in an attempt to get the picture as close to correct exposure at the time of snapping the shutter, OR, of
The school of thought of - at least in part, with the thinking that less glass between lens and subject is always better - that one should
NOT use lens filters, but rather, make any necessary corrections in a software application afterwards?
Personally, I prefer to NOT use lens filters, with the interest of getting the best quality shot possible - keeping any unnecessary glass off
The lens. At the same time, I am a photographer, NOT a software guru, so, I prefer to spend as LITTLE TIME POSSIBLE in front of a my laptop
Screen, having to play "Mr Photo Lab Guy". So, in conclusion, for me, I'd say I would use a lens filter if it would cut down the time I'd have to
Spend in front of a PC.
Also, what made me think of this question, is that I shot some pics in Rocky Mountain National Park this weekend. I was at 14,000'., and there
Are still a few patches of snow. At high altitude, things take on a blue cast. I've used an 81A filter with my film camera years ago.
Do you recommend I still use this filter with my Nikon D300? If you suggest adjusting the blue out afterwards, would you just ease out
The blue color in programs such as LightRoom?
Thank you SO much for your time and assistance with this.

Tom
Tom Potter
www.tompotterphotography.com
Email: tom@tompotterphotography.com
Landscape, Nature Photographic Prints For Sale
Focusing On Colorado

Comments

• pwppwp Registered Users Posts: 230 Major grins
    edited August 4, 2009