Photoshop CS2--worth it or not?

jlg84jlg84 Registered Users Posts: 59 Big grins
edited June 26, 2005 in Finishing School
I am an avid photographer, though by no means a professional or even all that skilled, but I love tinkering with my digital photos. I have been using Photoshop Elements on my iMac G5, but have recently had a note from the Smugmug team with suggestions for fixing some of my shots that would require that I upgrade to Photoshop CS. I am on the horns of a dilemma with this one, since it is a) a lot of money and 2) complex enough that I wonder if I would even learn how to use a fraction of the tools in it.

Sooo... what do you all think? Do you think the additional power of the full program warrants coughing up the dough, or am I unlikely to make enough use of those, as an amateur with a day job, to make the switch? Are there less costly ways to get the full software legally? Etc??

Canon 5D Mark II / Canon 50D / 15mm f/2.8 Fisheye / 24-70mm f/2.8L / 16-35mm f/2.8L II / 70-200mm f/2.8L IS / 50mm f/1.4 / Speedlight 580 EX-II / Canon G9
http://shuanglong.smugmug.com

Comments

• cletuscletus Registered Users Posts: 1,930 Major grins
    edited June 25, 2005
    Howdy jlg84 wave.gif

Is PS CS worth the jump in price from PS Elements? It really depends on what you want to do with your images. I love working with my images on the computer, so for me CS is worth it. If you enjoy digital darkroom work and you see yourself doing more and more of it in the future, then I'd say go ahead and take the plunge. However, if you feel like you're having to purchase way more software than you'll ever need - just to get one or two tools - then no, don't buy it.

Just out of curiosity, what adjusments are you wanting to make?
  • jlg84jlg84 Registered Users Posts: 59 Big grins
    edited June 25, 2005
    My adjustments