Portrait of my wife

anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
edited August 16, 2009 in People
My wife asked me to take a picture of her new hair style this morning as we were leaving for work. I have no experience what so ever taking portraits but I have lurked around in the People forum for some time taking notes.

I had her sit on the bed next to a window so that the diffused light was hitting the right side of her and then I setup my SB-600 speedlight to the rear and left of her. I stood on a chair and set my focal length to 70mm.

I happen to really love the way it turned out but I wanted to get some expert opinions.

What do you guys think?

BTW, we've been married for 17 years and I still feel like the luckiest guy on the planet. :D

613339936_VYn3r-XL.jpg
"I'm not yelling. I'm Cuban. That's how we talk."

Moderator of the People and Go Figure forums

My Smug Site

Comments

• kini62kini62 Registered Users Posts: 441 Major grins
    edited August 7, 2009
    1st, she's very beautiful.
    2nd, the exposure on her face is pretty hot. Several very hot spots.
    3rd, Is her skin really that smooth?

Gene
  • rookieshooterrookieshooter Registered Users Posts: 539 Major grins
    edited August 7, 2009
    where is the flash positioned in relation to the subject? Left, right or center?
  • HackboneHackbone Registered Users Posts: 4,027 Major grins
    edited August 7, 2009
    Those small round catchlights in her eyes seem to be from a flash hitting from the front? Yes, No?
  • anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
    edited August 7, 2009
    First, thank you for the compliments. I consider myself very lucky to have such a beautiful wife. I do agree about their being some hotspots from the flash on her face.