Anyone and Everyone Who Owns a Fisheye!

nikitynicknikitynick Registered Users Posts: 25 Big grins
edited August 25, 2009 in Cameras
I personally love fisheye shots when done right, but as with anyone else can only take them in small doses. Im wondering for those of you out there who own a fisheye lens, how often do you actually use it compared to your other lenses? Being a student I can't afford very many lenses, but after covering the basics I'm inching toward a fisheye, or at least a super wide lens. Thanks for the input!

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,079 moderator
    edited August 10, 2009
    A super-wide rectilinear zoom is much more flexible. You're right that fisheye lenses are a "spice" type of lens. A little at a time is a good thing.
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • hiroProtagonisthiroProtagonist Registered Users Posts: 83 Big grins
    edited August 13, 2009
    While I agree that fisheye shots when done right and in moderation can be a nice addition to your portfollio the ROI is pretty poor. I can think of a few other lenses at that price point that would get more use. I am considering the option of renting one for my next photo vacation.
    "But you and I, we’ve been through that, and this is not our fate. - Dylan 1968"
  • kdactionphotokdactionphoto Registered Users Posts: 16 Big grins
    edited August 14, 2009
    Hey Nickety
    I have a Nikon and the 10.5 Fisheye. It is a once in a while lens, but I do find things to use it for. My wife and I shoot Radio Control Car Racing. Usually I grab a shot from the drivers stand that encompasses the full track. This shot usually catches the sponsor banners along the backside of the track. I also do upclose of the cars while in the pits for detail shots. I find neat things to use it for. If I didnt the wife might ask why I bought it:D (joking)
  • InsuredDisasterInsuredDisaster Registered Users Posts: 1,132 Major grins
    edited August 16, 2009