Posting this to my blog, please comment

Photog4ChristPhotog4Christ Registered Users Posts: 716 Major grins
edited August 25, 2009 in Technique
I would like to put this on my blog in response to inquiries on how I did an HDR image. This is just a draft and not the final copy. I would appreciate comments, feedback, and any editing suggestions.

Thank you.
Since I posted the image of the Huron Lightship last week, several people have asked me how I did that. Well, I have to admit, I am not an HDR expert. I am still learning. I think I have only done one or two attempts at HDR prior to this. I am going to let you in on my secret... Ready? No one else is reading this, right? Just you and me?
I Googled HDR Photography. I also did a search on YouTube for HDR and HDR related terms. There are many tutorials out there written and produced by people that are a lot better at HDR photography than I am. The Internet is full of many great FREE resources. :)
Here is what I did on my image.
  1. The MOST IMPORTANT STEP: SHOOT RAW. This will not work if you are not shooting in RAW. Shooting anything other than RAW when doing HDR images is a waste of time.
  2. I put my camera (a Nikon D200) on a tripod in order to keep the camera steady.
  3. I used a remote shutter release to prevent any camera movement.
  4. I set the camera on BKT (bracket), and set it so that it would take five frames and the exposure ranged from -2 to +2.
  5. I had the camera on Aperture Priority so that the aperture would remain the same. It's okay for the shutter speed to change, you just don't want the aperture to change.
  6. I pre-focused (using the auto-focus of the camera) and then put the camera on manual focus mode. I didn't want the focus to change during the shooting of the five frames.