insurance advice

chrismoorechrismoore Registered Users Posts: 1,083 Major grins
edited August 22, 2009 in SmugMug Pro Sales Support
Hi, I was only able to located one other thread on this so if I'm missing one please point me in the right direction...
I now feel like I've amassed a small fortune in camera gear and need to get it insured (I feel like its the only thing in my life that's not insured in some way or another). The other thread I saw recommended Hill and Usher, but on their site they are for professionals and require business information, etc. I am not a professional.
In this month's Outdoor Photography they made mention of Rand Insurance, which requires membership in NANPA. Their application form quotes a yearly rate of 0.0230 x $equip value, which seems in line with what I've heard from others. Looks like the coverage terms are about the same, most places do not cover "mysterious loss."
Is there a popular choice for coverage that someone can recommend?
Thanks

Comments

• holzphotoholzphoto Registered Users Posts: 385 Major grins
    edited August 21, 2009
    if photography is just a hobby and not a career, then check into getting a rider on your homeowners/renter's.

if it is a career, shop around...the people who give my homeowners gave me the best deal on my business insurance.
  • chrismoorechrismoore Registered Users Posts: 1,083 Major grins
    edited August 21, 2009
    holzphoto wrote:
    if photography is just a hobby and not a career, then check into getting a rider on your homeowners/renter's.

if it is a career, shop around...the people who give my homeowners gave me the best deal on my business insurance.