Mac suggestion's

J AllenJ Allen Registered Users Posts: 359 Major grins
edited August 23, 2009 in Digital Darkroom
I'm looking to buy a new 5D II camera, so I want to upgrade my pc at the same time...those are some big file sizes that come off the 5DII.

I'm thinking of going with a mac, I've never used one before, but I always hear good things about them....So I was looking for any suggestions as what to get? It seems like its going to be painful switching everything over, having to buy all new software that is mac compatible, things like that...so anyone have any suggestions on what type of mac...have any experiences switching from a pc to a mac?

:ear
-Joe Allen
My Smugmug Site

Comments

• Miguel DelinquentoMiguel Delinquento Registered Users Posts: 904 Major grins
    edited August 22, 2009
    Joe, this question gets asked a lot in a lot of places. Authoritative switchers guides include:

Switchers guide

OSX Guide

Mac Switcher's Guide Book

Macs these days run Windows as well as any PC if you provide the operating systems software. Some popular photographic software will allow you to run both platforms, like Lightroom, or there is a small fee to transfer your license to the other side.

Data generated from Windows applications (and vice-versa) is readible by Macs, so you won't lose anything from your images.

Your hardware purchase decision will come down to either a laptop or a desktop model. My wife just purchased a new Macbook Pro 15-in model with the newly available matte screen. Just incredible design and pleasure of use. My daughter has an older Macbook with the glossy screen, but I would recommend the matte.

Desktop models are essentially an all-in-one iMac or a Mac Pro workstation. The former I would only recommend the 24-in. The screen is very good for photographic work but sooner or later you will run out of disk space (it only holds one drive) and will have to live with multiple external drives--which may or may not be an issue for you.