What makes your final camera purchase decision

jwashburnjwashburn Registered Users Posts: 476 Major grins
edited August 29, 2009 in Cameras
What is it that usually makes yours final decision for your camera?

I will use myseslf as an example. I have a d200 and I am looking to upgrade. I am a serious hobbyist. Nothing is driving my quest. I dont have any business drivers, just fun.

In reality I am looking at D300 or D700, as much as I would like to think I need a D3. For the sake of this argument, I will include it. It applies to Canon or any other camera maker. My question is really what is it that really makes you say OK, I am going with Model X.

I look at the D300s and the D700 and there are features in the lower price 300 like dual card slots, more FPS and Video. The 700 has full frame capabilities, (on the long end of the spectrum, it never hurts to have a little extra length, but when I shoot wide angles, I wish I didnt have the extra length of the dx format)

Now if you bring in the D3 it adds even more fire to the mix. The megapixels are the same, it has more FPS, which as an action guy I like. Its feels WAY better in your hand than the smaller cameras. I just feel more professional when I hold it (silly I know). So the D300s is about $1900, the D700 is $3000 and the D3 is $5000.

For me the D3 is out, I just cant afford it, nor could I really live with myself spending that much money since I am a hobbyist at best.

I personally am leaning towards the D300s because of the feature set. I like the ability to have video (dont know if I will ever use it), the FPS and the dual card slots. I dont think the giving up those features just to get FX format is worth it. Possibly because I dont really know what I am missing.

So what is it, that drives you to make the final call.

Price? Features? - Just curious how other people make their decisions

Comments

• divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
    edited August 25, 2009