Portraits from a New Guy

mtbparkermtbparker Registered Users Posts: 60 Big grins
edited August 28, 2009 in People
Hello,

I want to introduce myself. I'm Tom. Being that this is an introduction, this post will probably be a little more long-winded than most. I'm fairly new to photography and even newer to these DGrin forums. I've been reading a lot of the rules and guidelines threads that are scattered about as well as several of the C&C threads to get a general feel for the way this place operates. Quite honestly, the lines between these forums and the refinery are a bit blurry. I'm sure I'll gain a better understanding over time, but for my first post, I figured I'd try here.

I was playing around with some portrait shots this weekend with my wife as the ever cooperative (and patient) subject. My original goal was to experiment with B&W low-key. I saw it, I liked it, I needed to try it. As I went through the post processing, I found myself backing off of the B&W and leaving the color in. It just seemed like some of the pix were better left with color.

Personally, I like these shots. But I showed them to a friend of mine and he made the single comment, "You might want to lay off the cross lighting. That creates harder shadows and tends to be more for masculine shots" His comments make sense at the logical level, but I still like these shots. However, his comment made me acutely aware that there is SOOO much I don't know about photography. I've been reading photography books like a fiend. But I need practice and verification. So, I'm looking for C&C. I'm putting my best foot foward and hoping to get better from here.

If you're so inclined, the whole gallery can be found >>> here <<<

#1) This shot is closest to my original intent
627555644_zdRzp-L.jpg

#2) This is my favorite B&W of the group
627564029_Yhz2N-L.jpg

#3 & #4) This one and the next are my favorites colored shots.
627564058_wvAvW-L.jpg

627563903_9T5Pz-L.jpg