1st birthday

ZerodogZerodog Registered Users Posts: 1,480 Major grins
edited August 30, 2009 in People
My friends son had his 1st birthday the other day and I wanted to try to get some shots for them. This was my attempt.

I am new to flash photography. I have a few OLD Vivitar given to me by my uncle years ago. I got a Wein hot shoe thing to protect the camera and have been messing around with them. The latest attempt was with a Lumiquest Ultasoft defuser. I think it worked OK for this shot. It was almost completely dark at cake time. What I have found with the flash setup is that it is HARD. But I am getting better at setting the camera up to make it work. Full manual mode on the D90 and of course manual flash with the Vivitars makes it a challenge for me.

What do you guys think? What could have been better from a light standpoint?

633580292_38RqT-L.jpg

633577283_PbWTv-L.jpg

Comments

• MissBMissB Registered Users Posts: 463 Major grins
    edited August 29, 2009
    I am no expert at all with flash... actually i've been avoiding it as long as I can... lol. Why?? Because I feel that so much dynamic of an image gets ruined with flash lighting... especially with kids. I really don't see a professional dynamic in either images. (take heed my humble opinions) the first one the flash gave kind of a pin pupil catch light.. and it feels kind of flat to me. 2 seems snapshotty to me. He seems to be fighting the situation and the over all image feels really contrived and uncomfortable. I might try using a second light source such as a table lamp or some other off angle side lighing to give his facial dimentions more character. If you can bounce the flash light just to amp up the overall light in the room...If you have to use the flash dead on.. use some sort of difuser or lower the intensity of your flash. If you don't have a difuser you can use what you have on hand... tissue... coffee filter, paper towel etc etc. I hope that was helpful :)