Some advice please :D?

NoobPhotographerNoobPhotographer Registered Users Posts: 9 Beginner grinner
edited September 2, 2009 in Technique
Hi, I'm new to photography so sorry if any of these questions sound really lame.

I bought a canon 50d a few weeks ago with a 17-55mm usm is lens, I was told by my photography teacher this lens is great for everything till I can afford a good telephoto and macro lens.

I have a UV filter on it, no hood or anything.

I can take some nice wideangle landscapes and even some decent macros, But when I try to take pictures of people I always seem to mess up

my pictures come out either too dark and blurry, grainy, the skin all bleached out, bright and blurry, or just blurry xD, I've tried playing around with the f-stop, ss, and iso and still cant seem to get a really good picture. I've heard that 3.5-5 is usually the best to take portraits with and I try that and usually my shutter speed is so slow I can't get a decent one, Maybe I'm just never having enough lighting or being that I'm new I'm still too shaky??

Would you recommend a monopod/tripod?

again sorry if this sounds really silly :P, but I'm still learning and any help or advice would be appreciated :)

heres my flickr if you wanna see some of my photos
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kelseyturner/

Comments

• leaforteleaforte Registered Users Posts: 1,948 Major grins
    edited August 31, 2009
    Welcome to Dgrin! Your slide show is nice. You have a knack for sneakers! thumb.gif
    Growing with Dgrin

• NoobPhotographerNoobPhotographer Registered Users Posts: 9 Beginner grinner
    edited August 31, 2009
    leaforte wrote:
    Welcome to Dgrin! Your slide show is nice. You have a knack for sneakers! thumb.gif

Thank you :)
  • chrisjohnsonchrisjohnson Registered Users Posts: 772 Major grins
    edited August 31, 2009
    Nice photos.