Sharpening prints with Nik Sharpen Pro

swetzelswetzel Registered Users Posts: 20 Big grins
edited September 4, 2009 in SmugMug Pro Sales Support
Hi all, I am brand new to smugmug and I have a question for sharpening. I have Nik Software Sharpener Pro 3.0. This software asks for the Printer resolution (among other things). What printer resolution does Smugmug use for its printing? Does anyone else here use Sharpener Pro? If so any tips would be appreciated!

From my understanding, I will need up upload images in the sRGB colorspace that are already sharpened and ready to print.

Comments

• AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited August 31, 2009
    300dpi will be fine. Show me an example and I'll tell you if it'll print well :)
  • swetzelswetzel Registered Users Posts: 20 Big grins
    edited August 31, 2009
    Andy wrote:
    300dpi will be fine. Show me an example and I'll tell you if it'll print well :)

Thanks for the quick response Andy, but what I do not understand is that Nik Sharpener wants me to sharpen for a specific size print (DPI is related to number of pixels in the image and the size of the print. But Smugmug allows me to upload one image and print it in all sizes from wallet sized to very large.
    My DPI is going to vary greatly. Are you saying that if I use Nik Sharpener with a resolution of 300 DPI that prints in all sizes will look good?

Also what type of printer should I select and what viewing distance should I select? The printer will stay the same but the viewing distance will vary with the print size.

Can you help me with this or should I be sending an email like to to Nik Software?
  • AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited September 1, 2009
    swetzel wrote: