Options

Motocross Photo - Need some help on a few things

jwashburnjwashburn Registered Users Posts: 476 Major grins
edited September 9, 2009 in Sports
Take a look at this shot. Its not sharp. I dont think its camera shake. I was shooting at 1000sec. It doesnt seem out of focus (does it? I have been staring at it for hours) There seems like a great deal of noise for shooting at ISO 200.

It could very well be a technique issue, but I have begun to notice more and more photos looking like this.

Could something be wrong with my lens or my camera? I am not using pro level lenses. I did rent a 70-200 2.8 VR lens a few months back and I dont see these issues with photos from that lens.

I dont want to blame a technique problem on equipment, but I also dont want an equipment problem/limitation to be causing me grief.

641491143_Q35js-L-1.jpg

Comments

• Options
    2whlrcr2whlrcr Registered Users Posts: 306 Major grins
    edited September 8, 2009
    I'm no expert, but looking at the dirt under the bike, it looks like you DOF is good. You don't say what camera you are using. I shoot Canon's and I generally boost my sharpness and contrast just a little. Maybe you have set your camera to a "softer" setting. Take a look or add the the sharpness during PP.
  • Options
    MeffordMefford Registered Users Posts: 13 Big grins
    edited September 8, 2009
    I think it might be out of focus. There is not enough to tell, but the roost looks to be more in focus than the rider.

Perhaps the rider rode out of the focus area between the focus lock and the shutter release. Were you using some type of servo focus that tracks a moving objects? If not, I would try that next.
  • Options
    j-boj-bo Registered Users Posts: 313 Major grins
    edited September 9, 2009
    I believe it is a DOF issue. I think your focus point is down and slightly to the left, thus the upper and right side is slightly OOF.